home    history    our sun    inner planets    outer planets    moons    kuiper belt    links

solar system

Our Solar System


Our Solar System includes the sun and all the objects that are confined by the sun's gravitational field, which cause them to revolve around the sun. Because the planets revolve around the sun, the moons that revolve around the planets are also included. Thus, the solar system includes eight* planets, their satellites (or moons), asteroids, comets, and meteoroids.

*Pluto was reclassified as a "dwarf planet" by The International Astronomical Union (IAU) on August 24th, 2006.

The order of the planets, from closest to the sun outward, is:

If you want to memorize the order of the planets, you can use a 'mnemonic' (a memory aid in which the first letter of each word is the same as the first letters of the planets). Here is one example: "My Very Educated Mother Just Served Us Nine Pizzas". Click any of the links to the left to learn more about our solar system.

Valid XHTML 1.0!